Illumicrate Unboxing: October 2019 – With Great Power

Hello friends,

Here I am again, trying to play catch up on my unboxing posts. We are almost halfway there (until my December boxes arrive) so I am just going to keep going with it and hopefully start the New Year with a clean slate. So, here is my unboxing for Illumicrate’s October’s box, as always, I will link the Illumicrate website and Instagram. They are a UK based, monthly subscription box so if you are interested click on the links to find out more!

The theme for October was With Great Power. After being very excited about last month’s box – as I had read several of the books inspiring items, I was a bit worried about this box. I have not read any of the books inspiring items, although some of them are on my radar/tbr list.

Dreamers Pouch (@forensicandflowers)

This item was inspired by the Ravens Cycle series, which isn’t a book I have read. It is one I am aware of but I am not sure if it’s going to be my cup of tea and so I am yet to pick it up! If you have read the series let me know what you think, so I can make a more educated decision.

Abhorsen Bells Pin (@hannahhitchmanart)

I think this is a lovely piece and its very intricate. It is based on the Abhorsen series by Garth Nix, which isn’t a series I have heard of before but may have to check it out as this item has me intrigued.

Villains Character Card Set (@kiranight_art)

Inspired by V.E. Schwab’s Villains series, which is yet another book series I have not yet read. So, I have no idea who any of the characters are! Although the artwork on the cards is beautiful. Hopefully, I will appreciate it more if/when I eventually get around to reading the series.

Who Remains Tea Tin (@lioninthetrees)

I am in love with this item – it for me makes the box worth it! The design on this piece is stunning (and it’s a practical item too). The tin is inspired by The Poppy War, which isn’t something I have read yet, but I have been wanting to get my hands on it for months – maybe I will finally treat myself to a copy as it is coming up to Christmas.

Shatter Me Magnetic Bookmark Set (@idlestuff)

As the name says, these bookmarks are inspired by the Shatter Me series. Another one that I haven’t read – and I have heard mixed reviews about so I don’t know if I will ever get around to reading it. Despite this – I adore magnetic bookmark’s and the design on these is lovely.

Collectible – Magnetic Coin (@monolimeart)

This month we have Aeline Ashryver Galathynis from the Throne of Glass series and I am in love with this one! It immediately joined several others on my new tbr cart. Although, I must admit I think this might be my favourite!

Finally, the book for this month – Angel Mage by Garth Nix. This month Illumicrate included an exclusive edition, with sprayed edges. It was also signed by the author and included an author note as well. This is yet another book that is going straight onto my tbr. I had seen this book floating around but didn’t know much about it. After reading the synopsis I am super intrigued by the concept and hope to get around to reading it at some point soon. (I feel I am getting very repetitive when I say this – as I say it about 90% of the books, I receive in book boxes, but it is the truth!)

So, I am going to leave this unboxing here, before I start rambling. I think the mix of items in this box is nice and I am in love with the Tea Tin – I might have to go and buy some loose tea or something to store in it as I don’t just want it sitting in a box. It is gorgeous! Once again, I think Illumicrate has done a really good job with this box and I can’t wait to see what is in store for November’s box.

Love,

Alanna x

As always, all opinions expressed are my own, and I purchased all items mentioned unless otherwise stated.

Leave a comment